The az 104 exam pattern gives you 100 minutes of exam time, with 120 minutes of total seat time to allow for the exam agreement, a survey, and instructions. Microsoft does not publish the number of questions, the question types, or the passing score for AZ-104. The exam is delivered at a Pearson VUE test center or through Pearson VUE online proctoring.
Candidates researching the az 104 exam pattern usually want three things: how long the exam takes, how it is delivered, and how it is scored. Microsoft is specific about timing and delivery, and deliberately silent about question count, question types, and the passing score, so this page separates what is published from what is not.
AZ-104 exam duration
Microsoft states 100 minutes of exam time for AZ-104, with 120 minutes of total seat time. The extra time on top of the 100 minutes covers the non-disclosure agreement, a short survey, and reading the on-screen instructions before the clock for the graded portion starts. Microsoft notes the exam may include interactive components, tasks carried out against a live or simulated environment rather than answered as multiple choice, which is consistent with this being a hands-on Associate-level exam rather than a purely conceptual one.
AZ-104 number of questions and question types
Microsoft does not publish a fixed question count or a list of question types for AZ-104. Historically, Microsoft's role-based exams mix formats such as multiple choice, multiple response, and case studies, but the exact mix for any individual attempt is not disclosed in advance, and we will not guess at a number here. What we do know, from the domains listed on the exam objectives page, is that every attempt draws from the same five weighted domains, and that Microsoft may vary the question mix between attempts of the same exam code.
This is a common source of confusion for candidates comparing notes after their attempts: two people can sit AZ-104 in the same week and describe a different number of questions or a different balance of question types, and both descriptions can be accurate for their own attempt. Plan your preparation around the domains and objective statements rather than around any specific question count you hear secondhand.
AZ-104 passing score
Microsoft does not publish a passing score for AZ-104. If you see a specific passing score quoted for this exam elsewhere, treat it with caution, since Microsoft's own certification page for this exam does not state one.
How the exam is delivered
AZ-104 is delivered through Pearson VUE, either at a physical test center or through Pearson VUE's online proctoring service. Both options draw from the same domains and objectives; the difference is where and how you sit the exam, which the cost and booking page covers in more detail, including what online proctoring requires at your end.
Domains tested, by weight
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Manage Azure identities and governance | 24% |
| Implement and manage storage | 20% |
| Deploy and manage Azure compute resources | 24% |
| Implement and manage virtual networking | 18% |
| Monitor and maintain Azure resources | 14% |
These weights are the clearest signal Microsoft gives about how the exam is structured, even without a published question count. A domain at 24% is tested more heavily than one at 14%, so pacing your revision, and your practice attempts, to match these weights is more useful than guessing at question counts.
What our mock reproduces, and what it does not
Our mock is multiple-choice and multiple-response only. It covers every domain at its published weighting, so the balance of questions mirrors the table above, but it does not include the interactive, product-based tasks that Microsoft says the real AZ-104 exam may contain. Treat a strong mock score as evidence you know the material across all five domains, not as a guarantee about the interactive portions of the real exam.
If you are still deciding whether you meet the starting line for this exam, read the prerequisites page next, and once you have a sense of the format, the study plan turns these domain weights into a week-by-week plan.
Exam facts on this page come from Microsoft’s own pages (official exam page). Prices, versions and policies change — confirm there before you book.
